Working with PWM on a BeagleBone Black

Updates on using #BeagleBoneBlack PWM pins using the relatively new ‘config-pin’ utility.

Adventures in Programing

I recently figured out how to enable and set PWM pins on a BlackBone Black rev. C running debian with a test image dated 2014/12/19. I got the image from here. The debain version is 3.8.13-bone68. All instruction are from the command line of a ssh session. I work on a MacBook Pro, so beaglebone.local works with Bonjour, so I don’t need to know the IP address for the board.

I started by updating and installing the universal io device tree overlays, whose source is in the folder /opt/source/beaglebone-universal-io. This folder contains the github source, so I made sure it was up to date by typing,

git pull origin master

, then to install I typed

make install

In my detective work on this subject, there a two parts to setting up a pin,

  1. Set the pin multiplexing for the mode/function (gpio, pwm, I2C …), which the universal IO…

View original post 723 more words

Leave a Reply

